The story of us…

As my first blog entry, I will tell you a short story about how Jeremy and I came to be. Most of you already know that Jeremy and I met while working together. On May 19, 2008 I started working at Tri-Data, Inc. The previous week, I had gone on several different interviews and never got a call back. When I went into my interview for Tri-Data, Mgr. Josh Jacobs interviewed me and informed me that, if I got the job, I would be working night shift with 3 other men. The thought of being the only girl on a 4pm-12am job kind of frightened me, but I didn’t let that get in the way of having a good interview. I was desperate to find a full-time job!

A few hours later, I got the call. I had the job! I would be starting May 19, 2008. Josh also informed me that I would be working with his younger brother, Jeremy. However, their family was going on a cruise for the first week of my new job, so I would meet him when he got back. The job went well and I caught on quickly over the next week. I enjoyed not having to work with customers! Old Navy was a great job, but it wore me out. I enjoyed sitting at my desk…listening to music…just scanning medical documents all day.

On May 27, 2008, Jeremy walked into Tri-Data, Inc. with a nice tan and big smile. He casually said ‘hello’ to me as he walked to the back of the office. Over the next few weeks, we started to talk and enjoyed each other’s company. At midnight, we’d change into workout clothes and walk around Hurricane. It was always cool outside and mostly quiet with very little traffic. Jeremy and I would walk for miles…and miles…and miles while talking and having great conversations. On July 4, we finally made our relationship official.

Fast forward 2 fortune cookies later…

Surprise! We have a baby boy named Oliver Alexander. He entered this world 1 day shy of the 2 year mark when I first met Jeremy. Kind of crazy, huh? Three weeks before we found out we were expecting a little one, Jeremy and I both went out to a Chinese restaurant for dinner. When it came time to open our fortunes, we were both kind of surprised to find that they were very similar. “Happy news is headed your way” “Good news is on its way”…we took that as a sign from Oliver. Ha 😉

The purpose of this blog is just to write about the joys and hardships of being a first time parent. What it’s like on a daily basis with a little 5 month old. I’m sure the road ahead is bumpy, but hopefully I’ll learn a few things along the way.

5 thoughts on “The story of us…

  1. Toni says:

    As a little side note…When Joshua hired Ashley he said ” Mom I hired a girl that I think Jeremy is going to like!” For those of you that know Jeremy you’ll probably find that as hard to believe as I did. Kudos to Josh!! The rest is history . I couldn’t ask for a better match for my son.
    I Love Ya Ash

  2. Shama says:

    I’m glad that you are so genuinely happy Ashley 🙂 You’re a lucky gal!

  3. Thank you so much Toni! I am very blessed to have such wonderful (future) in-laws. Love you too!
    Shama- Thank you very much! I hope you start a blog! That would be very cool to read about how we are all handling mommyhood, lol.

  4. Matchmaker says:

    Yes you may call me the matchmaker ;). Ash as soon as the interview was over I called Jeremy and told him all about you. I can’t really explain it but I just felt you guys would be a good fit for one another. I’m very happy to have you as a future sister in-law, and can’t wait to spend more time with my nephew.

  5. Josh I’m glad you hired me! It’s funny how simple of a decision it was yet it changed my life and jeremy’s life so much 🙂 And it gave you a nephew! Lol I love both of them more than anything in this world.
    Now we need to find you a girl and give little Ollie a cousin 😉

Leave a Reply

