I broke Murphy’s Law…

I hate to get all sappy and lovey dovey on here because realistically, nothing is as good as it seems on paper…er…the internet, but bear with me. You know that saying “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong?” They call it Murphy’s Law. In my family, we call it Meadows’ Law, because it seems like everything goes wrong when we have our hopes up that they will go right. I don’t know if I’m grouped in with the ‘normal’ people when you always think of the things you want, but in the back of your mind you say “There’s no way I’ll ever experience that in my lifetime, even though I want it more than anything else in this world!” It’s that silly Murphy’s Law that has you thinking that way. At least that’s how I always thought about the two things I wanted most in life…a solid relationship…and a family of my own.

When I met Jeremy, I was sure our interesting conversations would dwindle and our relationship would run its course and then we’d either end up hating each other or just grow apart and move on with life. Surprisingly, our conversations are still interesting to this day and we still get along rather well. We aren’t always full of interesting things to say, but I just enjoy his company. He makes me laugh all the time. He’s the most stubborn smartass I know, so that’s probably why I enjoy him so much. We butt heads on a lot of things, but I’m usually laughing or shaking my head at the things we talk about.

When I found out I was pregnant over a year ago, I was sure something would go wrong with my pregnancy and I wouldn’t get to experience the joys of becoming a mother. It was something I always wanted and so of course, Meadows’ Law, was a constant fear in the back of my mind. I never slept on my tummy, even at 5 weeks, for fear that I would squash the baby. I’m crazy! I never had caffeine…I bought a heartbeat monitor so I could always hear the baby’s heartbeat. There were a few scares when I couldn’t find the heartbeat and I thought something had gone wrong. Even up until an hour before Oliver was born, I was still going crazy about the silly M.L. There was a point during labor that they lost Oliver’s heartbeat and the nurse started to get concerned and she even called in another nurse to try to help her find the heartbeat. I was dying…I just knew it. “Thank you for letting me go through my entire pregnancy only to take him away during the last hour.” I’m sure writing this blog will make people think I’m crazy, but this is seriously how I think sometimes. To my relief, I gave birth to a healthy baby boy!

I still think about stuff like that to this day, but I’ve grown to be thankful for what I’ve been given in my life so far. Murphy’s Law is just a negative way of viewing life and I’d like to just toss those thoughts out of my head. Everyone deserves happiness and yes, things will go wrong every once in a while, but not all the time. I’m so happy with where I am right now and I want to just pause life for a while because it seems like it’s going by way too fast.

Sporting some 3D glasses

Jeremy turning Oliver into a giggle monster with the 3D glasses.

One thought on “I broke Murphy’s Law…

  1. Shama says:

    You’re not crazy, I felt the same way. I was so scared that something was going to go wrong and I was going to lose Laken before I even got a chance to meet him. I got the doppler too, and checked every day. I remember us talking about that. lol. Up to this day I worry myself to death about SIDS =/ and just about every time we go somewhere i’m afraid we will have a car accident. I feel like I spend too much of my life worrying instead of just enjoying. There are certain times I really wish we had an on/off button for our emotions!

Leave a Reply

