Exhaustion.

I think we are all exhausted here in the Jacobs household. Jeremy is busy with work and school, especially now that the semester is winding down. I’m exhausted because of Oliver and just trying to get the house in order. He constantly wants to be held and I’m struggling with feelings of letting him cry it out while I get things done. It’s hard! I don’t want him to feel neglected, but I also need to get things done around the house. I should have listened to everyone when they told me I held him too much. The child doesn’t want to be put down. So, what do you do when you have a baby like that?

Taking the little man for a walk…He loved looking at everything!

Being a mom is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever done so far! It’s also the  most rewarding though. I’ve always been the type of person to procrastinate on things, even small things. As you have already learned by reading my blog, I’m having a difficult time putting Oliver in his crib. I always joke about him not realizing they cut his cord at birth, but I’m starting to think it’s me who hasn’t cut the cord. I always have him within a few feet of me…if I take a shower, he’s in his little swing in the bathroom with me playing with a toy. If I’m washing his bottles, he’s sitting in his little chair with a toy. Etc. Etc. Ha. No wonder I’m exhausted and don’t feel like I get anything done! But, I’m putting my foot down. Once and for all, I’m going to have to suck it up for a few days…weeks…whatever it takes to kind of get into a normal routine. No more 1am bedtimes for Oliver. I’m going to get myself up earlier, maybe around 8, and make sure he stays up for a few hours and then let him nap for an hour. I’ll do whatever it takes to get him on an 8 or 9pm bedtime so Jeremy and I can finally get back into the “couple” mode. I’ve been prolonging it so long that I could have already been on a normal routine with him and not feel so exhausted all the time. I want to start enjoying the daylight, especially since it’s been getting dark around 5:30.

He sure does love his Daddy!

Leave a Reply

