Counting my blessings.

It’s easy to overlook all of the good things in your life and focus on the bad things. It’s something I’ve done a little too much of lately. Our little getaway to Pennsylvania really helped put everything into focus for me. Oliver was an absolute angel the entire trip. When they say laughter is the best medicine, they aren’t lying. I laughed so many times while away that my throat actually started to hurt. I laughed so hard I cried…probably 10 times. Being around Jeremy’s family is always refreshing, but this year I really needed it.

Becoming a mom was the absolute best thing to ever happen to me. It’s also been the most overwhelming thing to ever happen to me. I have so much love for Oliver and Jeremy and sometimes I don’t know how to filter my emotions correctly. I hold things in for a while and then I explode. Being able to take a few days away from W.Va really helped me collect myself. I enjoyed being around everyone and seeing how well Oliver adapted to his new environment. He laughed a lot, played on his little mat while making new noises we had never heard before, and he also just sat on my lap and let me play cards with everyone. Jeremy and I also had a few times away where Grammy Toni would watch our little man and allow us to just relax. We appreciated that very much.

When you start a family, you begin to cherish moments you never really thought were important before. I have a special family of my own and I also have a special family with Jeremy. I enjoyed playing Apples to Apples with his family and Phase 10. I’ve brought Phase 10 back to WV and now my family enjoys playing it. This year I’ll introduce them to Apples to Apples. I love the fact that my mom still has baby toys from when I was a baby that Oliver is now playing with. I love that he sat in a baby rocking chair that my mom and Aunt Cheryl once sat in when they were his age. I want to carry on traditions for him to enjoy later on when he’s old enough. It’s exciting to know that Oliver will be waiting up until early in the morning in hopes of seeing “Santa Claus” and that he’ll help me bake cookies the night before to put out.

Any time I start to feel down again, I hope that I’ll be able to remember things like that to cheer me up.

Leave a Reply

