Adventures in babysitting…

This past week I’ve added another little toddler to my daily life. My good friend, Jamie, was in a bind and needed someone to watch her 17-month old son, Mason. Oliver has gotten such a kick out of having him here. I’m still adjusting to waking up at 7am though. I’ve gotten into a habit of waking up whenever Oliver wakes up and that’s usually not until 9-1oam. I don’t understand how before I had Oliver, I was able to run on 6 hours of sleep a night and be completely fine when I woke up. I need to start drinking coffee again. Yummy!

Anyway, my days have been pretty busy and entertaining. Oliver loves studying everything Mason does and he’s actually starting to walk more confidently. He used to only take 3-4 steps and fall into me. Now, he’s walking across the room! He just needed that extra boost in the form of a 17-month old boy to get him walking =) We play on the floor for hours, snack time, meal time, nap time, meal time, snack time. Haha, it’s exhausting! I love seeing my son interact with another boy around his age. He always smiles at Mason and I can hear him in his crib in the mornings when Mason is first dropped off. He wants to play ASAP! So far, it appears that Oliver likes to share. It’s typical at their age for them to want everything to themselves or to take away another toddler’s toys, but Oliver just sits there and finds another toy if Mason takes his away from him. At first it kind of broke my heart because Oliver would try to play with Mason but since Mason has been walking for a while now, he’s much quicker and usually bolting across the room before Oliver has a chance to catch up to him.

On a side note, we bought a van this week! Our budget wasn’t very high, but we managed to find an amazing deal on a Honda Odyssey. I don’t know if it’s just that I am a van owner now, but wow, I feel old. At the same time though, I feel pretty happy that I have a son, a husband, a nice rental home, and a mini-van. We are officially adults! I know we’ve been adults for quite some time, but it just feels differently now.

Leave a Reply

