“I love you more than you’ll ever know…”

That was a phrase I heard a lot from my Dad while growing up. I think I’ve even mentioned it before on this blog. He gave me flowers for my baby shower with a card that had the phrase written on it.

Last night, I felt that overwhelming love for Ollie as I tucked him in to bed. His Grammy had watched him for Jeremy and I while we had a date night and for some reason I always feel a little guilty coming home and putting him right to bed without that little bit of bonding time. Grammy stayed a little bit longer after we got back home and we just watched him run around laughing and speaking gibberish. We discovered he has a new ticklish spot…his shoulders! Silly boy drops to his knees when we tickle him there now.

Anyway, back to the bed time story. I rocked Ollie for a little bit and read him a story and when it came time to put him in his crib, he didn’t cry at all. He just laid there with his little Buddy blankie and looked up at me and started speaking his gibberish like he was having this long conversation with me. I just leaned over his crib and acted like I knew what he was saying and told him I loved him and that I would see him in the morning. For some reason I felt guilty leaving him during his lengthy conversation so I stayed and talked to him. I know we didn’t really “talk” but it was the sweetest moment to date to just stand over his crib and him be completely calm. Tears welled up in my eyes as I tucked him in one last time and said goodnight. I think those are the moments when you really understand what your Dad meant when he said, “I love you more than you’ll ever know.” Because you have that same kind of unconditional, undying, infinite love for your own child now.

Leave a Reply

