Family traditions…

Last night after I fixed dinner, Jeremy asked if I wanted to go to Wal-mart to pick out a tree. I get stir-crazy being at the house most of the day and now that it’s cold, I haven’t been able to go walking with my sister and Ollie. So yes, I definitely wanted to go to Wal-mart. I love real trees and I know eventually we’ll get one in the next few years, but we have a puppy and a toddler so we needed something durable. I can just imagine Ollie picking at those pine needles and stabbing his poor little fingers! It was kind of late and way past Ollie’s bedtime, but he was a trooper and didn’t fuss at all. We found a pretty nice tree for $88! We also picked up some more ornaments because last  year was our first year away from our parents house and we only bought a few. I think we have 5 “Baby’s First Christmas” ornaments for Ollie, haha.

Once we got back home with our goodies, we put Ollie to bed and started putting the tree together while watching some of our shows on DVR. I must say, I truly love the family life. Jeremy drank a glass of wine and I had my fat-free hot coco…yum! I kind of got all nostalgic while looking at Ollie’s ornaments. My favorite part of helping my parents decorate the tree was looking at all of my tiny ornaments they had purchased over the years. Some were homemade and stitched, others were painted with my birth year, and of course, the cute little Hallmark ornaments. I can’t believe how fast time flies and how I’m already a parent to a sweet baby boy…although he’s not necessarily a baby anymore, he’ll always be one in my eyes. When did this whole parent thing happen?! Wasn’t I just on the other side of this story? Ah, it’s terrifying and awesome at the same time. Every year we’ll bring out those ornaments and let Oliver hang them on the tree because they’re “HIS” ornaments. And then one day there will be another sibling to help put up the ornaments. I’m getting ahead of myself, but you get my drift! Family is so important to me and I’m more than excited to pass on traditions to my new little family.

Leave a Reply

