Daddy’s beanie and disciplining.

Oh boy…I need to go to bed, but like always, I’m up at 1am. I don’t think I’ve gone to bed before 2 in months! Just uploaded some pictures of Oliver from earlier today. He’s so precious…I’m enjoying watching him grow and learn every day. I know a lot of parents brag about their kids, and I can totally relate. He’s very sweet and when he’s around other kids his age he shares his toys and studies them with a smile on his face. He gives out plenty of hugs and sloppy kisses!

Today I sat in the bathroom with him for at least 10 minutes trying to get him to pee in the big boy’s potty. I took off his diaper and let him play around with a roll of toilet paper until I saw him starting to pee…as soon as the first drop hit the floor I quickly grabbed him and put him on the potty. Nothing. He just looked at me like I was crazy. I know the average age to start potty training is 2, but I thought I’d try to give it a shot and see if he’d catch on. No luck so far!

He’s getting a little more courageous with his temper and that’s something we are trying to reign in. I noticed today that when Jeremy would discipline him by telling him “No,” sternly…Ollie would cry and act like it was the end of the world to disappoint his Daddy. He would also go straight for my leg and hold on tightly. Jeremy said I need to stop coddling him. I never really thought I did until Jeremy was at work this evening and when I said “No” sternly, all I got was a deep belly laugh from Oliver as if it say “HAHAHA, oh Mommy, you silly! Now let me get back to doing whatever it is that you told me not to do.” It’s during those moments where you want to keep a straight face and continue your disciplining, but when you see your child manipulating you all you can do is laugh. I’m a bad mom…

Leave a Reply

